California Manslaughter

What Is The Punishment For Involuntary Manslaughter In...

New postby Lorrie » 25 Oct 2012, 21:00

What is the punishment for involuntary manslaughter in california?

I need to know everything there is to this crime.
Lorrie
 
Posts: 1416
Joined: 08 Apr 2009, 18:45

New postby Kacie » 25 Oct 2012, 21:00

Involuntary manslaughter is punishable by imprisonment in the
state prison for two, three, or four years.
Kacie
 
Posts: 1343
Joined: 08 Apr 2009, 18:45

What are the minimum and maximum penalties for vehicular...

New postby Denis » 25 Oct 2012, 21:00

What are the minimum and maximum penalties for vehicular manslaughter in California?

Need to know for a discussion/comparison on the subject.
Denis
 
Posts: 1341
Joined: 08 Apr 2009, 18:45

New postby Lashandra » 25 Oct 2012, 21:00

According to reference #1, depending upon the
circumstances, "vehicular manslaughter" can be a
"misdemeanor (minor crime with a maximum punishment
of a year in county jail or only a fine) or a felony
punishable by a term in state prison ...".

For example, if the cause is DUI, then code 191.5 applies
(see reference #2), which says:

"gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated
is punishable by imprisonment in the state prison
for 4, 6, or 10 years"

"Any person convicted of violating this section who has one
or more prior convictions of this section ... [or other
sections] ..., shall be punished by imprisonment in the
state prison for a term of 15 years to life."

So, the minimum could be a fine and the maximum could
be life. Obviously, the circumstances make all the
difference.
Lashandra
 
Posts: 1357
Joined: 08 Apr 2009, 18:45

What are any laws in California involving exctasy? Any...

New postby Salley » 25 Oct 2012, 21:00

What are any laws in California involving exctasy? Any manslaughter if over a certain amount of pills?
Salley
 
Posts: 1360
Joined: 08 Apr 2009, 18:45

New postby Betty » 25 Oct 2012, 21:00

Federal law makes ecstasy illegal. You cause the death of anyone through the sale or distribution of illegal drugs and the attorney general always has the option of manslaughter, depending on circumstance.
Betty
 
Posts: 1391
Joined: 08 Apr 2009, 18:45

Can you be charged with "Manslaughter" in...

New postby Yetta » 25 Oct 2012, 21:00

Can you be charged with "Manslaughter" in California for driving over 100 MPH?

I went to traffic school last weekend and the instructor said this was true. At the time, I was too tired/bored to question it, but now I'm wondering. Doesn't someone have to actually die for it to be Manslaughter?
Yetta
 
Posts: 1321
Joined: 08 Apr 2009, 18:45

New postby Marina » 25 Oct 2012, 21:00

Richard is right that someone has to die for it to be manslaughter, but he is incorrect as to the law regarding vehicular manslaughter. So was your instructor, because speed does not have to exceed 100 mph for vehicular manslaughter to apply. Recklessness is not required (and there is no presumption that I am aware of that a person driving over 100 mph is reckless). You can be charged with vehicular manslaughter if death results from driving the vehicle unlawfully without gross negligence. That includes ANY speeding, not just speed over 100 mph, if the speed is inherently dangerous and a death results. It is a misdemeanor offense

Penal Code section 190, subd. (c)(2).
People v. Wells (1996) 12 Cal.4th 979
Marina
 
Posts: 1413
Joined: 08 Apr 2009, 18:45

What is the penility for vehicular manslaughter with gross..

New postby Bette » 25 Oct 2012, 21:00

What is the penility for vehicular manslaughter with gross negligence in the state of California?

If someone is found guilty of vehicular manslaughter with gross negligence what is the penility?
Bette
 
Posts: 1344
Joined: 08 Apr 2009, 18:45

New postby Joleen » 25 Oct 2012, 21:00

Your screwed guy 5-20 years depending on the case. Move your ass to canada or mexico asap.
Joleen
 
Posts: 1371
Joined: 08 Apr 2009, 18:45

How long is California drivers license revoked for a...

New postby Randell » 25 Oct 2012, 21:00

How long is California drivers license revoked for a non-DUI gross vehicular manslaughter conviction?

If a person is speeding on California freeway and kills one passenger how long will his drivers license be revoked while serving 6-year prison term.
Randell
 
Posts: 1441
Joined: 08 Apr 2009, 18:45

New postby Jarred » 25 Oct 2012, 21:00

Posters claiming all revocations are for life are wrong, at least in California. Some revocations are for life, but this is not one of them. All revocations last for at least one year. I assume you are asking about a conviction of VC 192, subdivision (c)(1) (vehicular manslaughter with gross negligence). The minimum period of revocation is three years. (VC 13351, subdivision (b).)
Jarred
 
Posts: 1391
Joined: 08 Apr 2009, 18:45

What is the penalty for vehicular manslaughter with gross...

New postby Rodolfo » 25 Oct 2012, 21:00

What is the penalty for vehicular manslaughter with gross negligence in the state of California?

If found guilty what is the penalty for vehicular manslaughter with gross negligence in the state of California?
Rodolfo
 
Posts: 1297
Joined: 08 Apr 2009, 18:45

New postby Leota » 25 Oct 2012, 21:00

Vehicular manslaughter with gross negligence violates Penal Code section 192, subd. (c)(1). This offense can be filed as a misdemeanor, with a maximum sentence of one year in jail, or as a felony with a maximum sentence of six years in prison. (Pen C section 193, subd. (c)(1).) As in any other situation, what punishment is sought or imposed depends upon the circumstances of the offense and the offender, which will NOT be based upon the factors in the post above.

There is also a mandatory three-year license revocation. (Veh C sec 13351.)
Leota
 
Posts: 1373
Joined: 08 Apr 2009, 18:45

Can you get a hazmat endorsement if you have a...

New postby Magaret » 25 Oct 2012, 21:00

Can you get a hazmat endorsement if you have a manslaughter with gun charge? I live in California.?

I am trying to renew my hazmat endorsement, and under the safety act I am not sure whether I can or not.
Magaret
 
Posts: 1313
Joined: 08 Apr 2009, 18:45

New postby Dalia » 25 Oct 2012, 21:00

As of 2005 you are required to pass TSA Security Screening to obtain a hazmat license. Certain criminal offenses place a temporary restriction on you while others give you a permanent ban. This is where it gets weird though. Manslaughter is not on either list.
Murder will get you a permanent ban while assault with intent to murder will get you a temporary ban, but it doesn't mention manslaughter. So now we are going to play the guessing game where we try to make a logical guess based upon the information provided.
Manslaughter is not on the list, but unlawful use of a firearm gets you a temporary ban. Manslaughter is not murder (Although the victim might disagree). I'm going to guess that the gun use will get you a temporary ban.
A temporary ban means that you can not be approved until 7 years after the date of the offense or 5 years after your release from Prison. If it's been longer than that, go for it. If not, don't bother because you'll be throwing away the non-refundable $96 application fee.
Dalia
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: 08 Apr 2009, 18:45

Next

Return to Law & Ethics



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests

cron