Basement Flooded

My Basement Flooded, How Do I Get The Mildew And Smell Out?

New postby Kacy » 29 Oct 2012, 03:55

I've tried bleach and water and also charcole and nothing seems to work! I've tried bleach and water and also charcole and nothing seems to work!
Kacy

New postby Jamika » 29 Oct 2012, 03:55

OK as a contractor I'll help you out with this

1st i imagine you have all ready removed all damaged goods including the carpet and other forms of flooring

2nd you still have a mildew smell in your basement this says that you still have moisture around. With this i would do 2 things completely remove all objects from the basement ( Relocating those objects to the Garage). Then rent a liquid propane heater that contractors use. this will remove all the moisture from the air in your basement.( Check on this from time to time for safety reasons ).

3rd I would then use a Dehumidifier to continue keeping the air dry. and then i would start searching for other possible locations where the moisture is coming from.

4th The objects that you pulled out of the basement need to be examined to see if they still hold the mildew smell. Furniture involving fabric and foams like couches should be thrown away they cant be fixed. Other objects that can be safely cleaned and dry ed need to be washed before being brought back to the basement.

5th By this time your basement should be dry and you can tell where the leaks are coming from. You may need to use Rubber based paint to keep water from seeping into your basement.

Signed Tim
Jamika

Our basement flooded what should I clean it with besides...

New postby Kecia » 29 Oct 2012, 03:55

Our basement flooded what should I clean it with besides bleach?

We had 4 feet of water. I just want to get the musty smell out and make sure all the molds are killed. Any advise?
Kecia

New postby Monte » 29 Oct 2012, 03:55

Bleach and ventilation should help. Be careful mold can cause all sorts of problems.
Monte