Vegan Culinary Schools

Vegan Culinary Schools?

New postby Adriane » 25 Oct 2012, 22:42

I am a vegan interested in studying to become a professional chef. I would really like to complete a respected culinary program. However, I cannot find any programs that offer certificates/degrees for chefs who do not want to work with animal products. Are there any vegan chef programs? If not, what other steps can I take to gain the knowledge to start my career? Internet links for culinary programs would be greatly appreciated as well.
Adriane

New postby Mirian » 25 Oct 2012, 22:42

Hi there - I'm pretty sure the culinary program for you is the Natural Gourmet Institute (http://www.naturalgourmetschool.com/), which is the only accredited vegetarian/vegan cooking school that I know of. I graduated from their Chef's Training program in 2003, and am definitely appreciative of the culinary education I received from them (attending school in the culinary mecca that is New York City was amazing as well).

When I attended, the program was 95% vegan. There was one week in which animal foods were focused on (really just fish, eggs, and poultry - we didn't focus on red meat or pork). There were four students in our class who decided to take that week off to avoid working with the animal foods. (I decided to stay...I wanted to broaden my experience with cooking foods, even if I choose not to eat them). The program covers lots of techniques, whole-foods nutrition, business training (if you want to go into biz on your own), lectures in ayurveda, Chinese medicine, healing with food, etc. Some days are spent entirely cooking, where other days might be split between lecture and cooking.